I’m Moving On With My Computers….

Kamini Kandica Abdool

I see time and time again the new inventions of Tech to High-Tech. What happened to the tech we created yesterday? Facebook is investing in the social networks that we created and is now trying to bank on it through the stock exchange. Or, so we heard about weeks aback. Cyber terror is compared and deemed ten times worse than the atomic bomb, yet governments want to stay up to date on the terrors and set up a shelter online. Ten times worse than the atomic bomb should be gotten rid of….

In the same way, IT Security is facing many challenges searching out and implementing new measures across platforms. Everything these days seem to meet the standards of improved security but it doesn’t feel like it’s fitting in securely.
The promise of advanced security doesn’t necessarily bring forth more secure environment. The cap should say. “Advance Security Measures for this product only”. To be fair, that is actually what the manufacturer is providing. At any given point, whether it be product planning, development, beta testing, release, or implementation, the guarantee according to security standards, is that the product itself is more secure than before.
When I have to think about it that much, I know my computer is confused about it too. Why? As smart as my computer is, I know, I have a hand in the work-flow.

When I say shut-down, the integritous relationship that I have with my computer tells me that my login retires and the computer shuts-down with that command that’s built in to the start menu and says, “SHUT DOWN”.

Except, these days I feel less secure in that shut down policy because my router is still up. I have a router and a home network. I shut down my computer but the router is still up and activity is still traveling back and forth. Random I know but it has something to do with security.

My computer shuts down so I think security comes with the abstinence of internet that shut down gave me. But, to think about it seriously, my computer is still susceptible to other parts of the network, and the router. Hazards are reaching forwards and hiding at the perimeter of the exit/entrance which might be at the same place for this particular example. I know this is the case because my automatic updates load as soon as I turn my computer on.

Closure is important to me here. How do I close out everything every night so my computer can wake up more secure, comfortable, and capable? Let’s face it, I got a computer because I couldn’t take care of a dog and I thought this would be easier but now, I feel compelled to clean for it, secure it, feed it and tuck it into bed sweetly for it to do what I need. I don’t mind because it’s my computer. But the reason, I paid for the router is to protect the computer and I feel like I doing more work to upkeep that for my computer. I read the package and clearly, the suggestion for better and more advance security is there. I read it. But it’s not for me and the computer, it’s for the router. Advice, “Call Your ISP, I don’t care, I really don’t. It’s not my job to make you feel more secure. I need to worry today about me and my computer and my daughter. Goodbye.”

About kaminikandicaabdool

BA in Sociology - Temple University - December 2009 Microsoft Small Business Certificate - 2006 Current Endeavors - Volunteer at the World Tribute Center; Employee at Home Depot and Path Mark Against ANY KIND of terrorism, I don't smoke and I don't use non-prescription narcotics just the regular over-the-counter kind!!!!
This entry was posted in Technology and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

